Dare I say Spring has Sprung?

I’m not sure if I should jinx it, but I think we are well on our way into gardening season. Shhh, it’s important to tip toe when I say such things. Last week we jumped from highs in the 40s to highs in the 80s over a 24-hour period, and for 4 days in a row it was full-on summer. Weird, but after the long, cold and icy winter we’ve had, I’ll take it. We had finally said good riddance to the mountain of snow in our backyard a few days ago after watching it shrink all week. I breathed a sigh of relief as I uncovered a few flower beds, raked the yard, and tidied up the patio. If I would have had the time, I’d have tucked a few pansies into my big flower pot out front.

But then, in typical northern spring fashion, the wind picked up and we had flurries through yesterday. Nothing is sticking of course, and plenty of bulbs are starting to pop up and even bloom on the south side of the house. So despite the set back, things are definitely happening and I’m making plans. On Friday I ordered plants from my favorite plant sale. We also took a walk down to our community garden plot to see that the first green blades of the garlic my husband planted last fall are starting to break through the soil.

But it’s still windy, damp, and cool. So while I wait for things to warm up and dry out I’m planning to gather some inspiration from a few of my favorite gardening books that I just wrote about for Shepherd.com. Check it out here!

And remember to grab a copy of Dig In! and The Nitty Gritty Gardening Book for the best ideas for windowsill gardening. Until next time!

Leave a comment